antenna-ohNCIiKVT1g-unsplash.jpg

ENGAGE LOCALLY

WRITE LETTERS TO THE EDITOR OR AN OPINION PIECE

Working on Laptop

Submitting your opinion to Statesman Journal
Use StatesmanJournal.com/letters or send an e-mail with your letter, rant or guest opinion to letters@StatesmanJournal.com.
They cannot accept WordPerfect or PDF letters.


Additional guidelines:
Length: 200 words or fewer for letters; 500 words or fewer for guest opinions.

The Statesman Journal welcomes letters, brief rants and guest opinions, particularly from people who live, work or attend school in the Mid-Valley. We receive thousands of letters every year. Not all can be published.

Tips to Increase the Odds that your Submission will be Published:

  • Write about a current issue of widespread local interest.

  • Make it original. Write it yourself. Don't submit copies of letters submitted elsewhere. Don't use a form letter from an organization. If we think your letter sounds like part of a campaign, it doesn't stand a chance

  • State your view instead of quoting others. We do not publish extensive quotations

  • Set an example by being civil. There's an important distinction between referring to a policy as idiotic and calling someone an idiot

  • If you're referring to a previous item in the Statesman Journal, please include the date and title of that item and whether it was in print or online.

  • Remember that all submissions are subject to editing for length, grammar, accuracy, libel concerns, clarity and other issues. (Unfortunately, because of time constraints, we cannot offer you pre-publication review of your edited submission. Everything published in a newspaper is subject to editing, and editing often happens on deadline.)

  • A submission, even if it falls within our word limits, still might have to be shortened for publication due to space configurations on that day.

  • E-mail submissions are greatly preferred because we don't have to retype them into our publishing system.

CONTACT YOUR COUNTY COMMISSIONER

MARION COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Kevin Cameron.jpg

Kevin Cameron
Kcameron@co.marion.or.us
(503) 588-5212

Colm Willis.jpg

Colm Willis

Cwillis@co.marion.or.us

(503) 588-5212

DanielleBethell.jpg

Danielle Bethell

Dbethell@co.marion.or.us

(503) 588-5212

Marion County Health Department

  Choose Health and Human Services to leave a comment

POLK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Craig Pope.jpg

Craig Pope

pope.craig@co.polk.or.us

(503) 623-8173

Lyle Mordhorst.jpg

Lyle Mordhorst

mordhorst.lyle@co.polk.or.us

(503) 623-8173

Jeremy Gordon.jpg

Jeremy Gordon

gordon.jeremy@co.polk.or.us

(503) 623-8173

Polk County Health Department

Health Services Director, Noelle Carroll

carroll.noelle@co.polk.or.us